Where the Shepherd is

In an effort to make good on #7 of my Theological 13 for 2013, I’ve been reading St. Ignatius of Antioch. I don’t have much to add to the below passage (except that the translator makes St. Ignatius sound like Yoda at times, no complaints here), so I’ll let Ignatius do my talking :

Being born, then, of the light of truth, shun division and bad doctrines. Where the Shepherd is, there you, being sheep, must follow. For, many wolves there are, apparently worthy of confidence, who with the bait of baneful pleasure seek to capture the runners in God’s race; but if you stand united, they will have no success.

-Ignatius of Antioch, Ignatius to the Philadelphians 2:1-2

2 thoughts on “Where the Shepherd is”

  1. Thank you for making me read that with Yoda’s voice in my head.

    “But if you stand united, they will have no success.” Its humorous to me that the wolves will be devoured by sheep. We don’t go to war to lose, we go to war to win. God’s sheep will not lose.

Leave a Reply

